Tony Botic was elected Club President for 2012 and the venue for Club General Meetings was moved from the Baulkham Hills Sporting Club to the ARDC “Garage 52” at Sydney Motorsport Park, Eastern Creek.

A shortage of motorsport circuits in Sydney since Oran Park closed 2 years ago has had an impact on motorsport which the NSW Government has recognised with a grant of $7 million, which will be added to $2 million from the ARDC to upgrade the Eastern Creek Circuit to allow for four different track configurations. This year we will be running on each of these tracks: the Brabham circuit which is the full circuit adding an extension to the current GP circuit; the Gardner circuit which is a renaming of the GP circuit in Wayne Garners honour; the Druitt circuit which is the north circuit used by commercial “drive a race car” operators and the Amaroo circuit which is the south circuit that can be operated concurrently with the Druitt circuit thus allowing two events to be held at the same time. This re-development has also presented the opportunity to re-brand the precinct Sydney Motorsport Park which is the premier motorsport facility in the state, and one which aligns closely with our club’s heritage.

The Club’s website introduced a new electronic payments system using PayPal to make members payments more secure and more convenient. This system also made it easier for committee members to keep track of the payments made to their events. The ability to synch the Club Calendar with Apple devices was also added, using Google Calendars.

Ryan Walkinshaw with David Sultana (L) & Joe Garzaniti (R)

Ryan Walkinshaw (pictured right) accepted the Club’s invitation to become its Patron.

To co-incide with HSV’s 25th Anniversary, the 2012 HSV Nationals were held in Brisbane in July with the Concourse on Saturday in the RNA Showgrounds Exhibition Building followed by drag racing at Willowbank on the Sunday.

Also in July the club applied for and achieved listing by the RMS as an approved Historic Vehicle Club so that members with compliant vehicles would have access to conditional historic registration through the club. David Dimech was appointed be the Club’s Historic Vehicle Registrar.

The Committee granted Joe Garzaniti (member no 646) Life Membership for services rendered to the Club, including 3 years as Club President,

With the reduced numbers of competitors now participating in supersprints it was decided to change the basis of the Club’s Motorsport Championship with a new scoring system this year with and a reduction to just four classes – Registered Holden, Race Holden, Outlaw and Rookie.

An Active Members Championship was also introduced based on points for attending Cub events and activities. Ten club Gift Vouchers ranging from $50 to $500 in value were the prizes.

Honorary Club Member Warren Luff was signed up by team boss Roland Dane for Team Vodaphone in the 2012 V8 Supercars endurance races. He will join drivers Jamie Wincup, Craig Lowndes and Paul Dumbrell. Warren also co-drove the 2011 Australian GT Championship winning Audi R8.

At the end of 2012, with the ACT members having formed their own Club, the NSW club had 210 members.

Social Events: Runs to Secret Creek at Lithgow, Mount Panorama Bathurst, Kids Easter Egg Hunt at Fagan Park Arcadia, HMAS Albatross Naval Air Base at South Nowra, Wollombi Tavern, MV Capedon docked at Waverton,Fuelarama at Newcastle foreshores where the Club won “Best Presented Club” Award, SIDS and Kids Cruise for Charity to the Stockton Beach foreshore, Thirlmere Trainworks Museum, Weekend Away to Bobs Shed Quirindi; Family Cruise to Wakefield Park Supersprint round with parade laps, Coffs Harbour Weekend Away; Kids Christmas Party and BBQ at Vickery’s Winery Luddenham; and the MODE Dawn Cruise to Bald Hill Lookout at Stanwell Tops.

Special Events: Bonnets Up Display at Nulon Factory – launch of V8 Ute Series; Darling Harbour / Sydney Motor Show Club Display; NSW Team for HSV Nationals in Qld; Club Display at Motorex Homebush; 27th All Holden Day where we won the Best Club Display award; Club Display at V8 Supercars SMSP; Muscle Car Show at Paul Wakeling Holden Campbelltown; Harry’s Cafe de Wheels Liverpool; Club Display at the Muscle Car Masters SMSP; Christmas Party General Meeting; Gala Dinner presentation night at Doltone House, Jones Bay Wharf, Pyrmont.

Gary Nelson – Club Motorsport Champion

Club Motorsport Championship: Gary Nelson won the Phillip Walsh Memorial Motorsport Trophy followed by Warwick Fuller and Charly Jobse. Anthony Pellegrom won the Road Holden Class, Charly Jobse won the Race Holden Class, Gary Nelson won the Outlaw Class and Anthony Pellegrom was Rookie of the Year.

Motorsport: Dyno Day at Charlestone Performance Seven Hills; Private Hire Drag Day at Sydney Dragway; CAMS Come and Try Day at SMSP; Skid Pan evening at SMSP; Temora 1000 Airport Sprint; Cooma 1000 Airport Sprint; Huntley Hill Climbs; Interclub Supersprint Series – 6 rounds; four “No Speed Limits” Drive Days at Wakefield Park.

Muscle Car Show Results 2012
Best HDT/HSV – Top Show Car: James Stewart. 
Best of Series: HDT VH Mark Appezzato, HDT VK Shannon Jackson, HDT VL James Stewart, HSV VL Bob Parkin, VN Tony Bozinovski, VP Roger Whalebone, VR Carlo Disaro, VS James Packman, VT Richard Blackford, VX Vic Tuckwell, VY Joe Garzaniti, VZ Lauren Arentz, VE1 Jeff Briffa, VE2/3 Wayne Trimby.
Best Concourse: Joe Garzaniti, Best Show n Shine: Richard Blackford, Best Daily Driven: Wayne Trimby.
Best Modified: Jeff Briffa, Best MotorSport: Garry Nelson.
Best of Model: GTS Wayne Trimby, Senator Paul Foster, Grange Steve Mortakis, ClubSport Joe Garzaniti, Coupe Charly Jobse, Maloo Rick Wade, VXR Louie Alfonsi.

Best HDT/HSV – Top Show Car: James Stewart’s HDT VL Group A SS

2012 Committee: President Tony Botic, VP Anthony Alafaci, Secretary Ian Williams, Treasurer Carlo Disaro, Public Officer Ian Williams, Membership Secretary Sue McReynolds, Social Secretary Shannon Jackson, Special Events Director Cy Cripps, Motorsport Director & CAMS Delegate Mick McMurdo, “No Speed Limits” Drive Days Brett Gilles, Merchandise Co-ordinator Warren McReynolds, Magazine Editor Karin Ross, Webmaster Ian Williams, Historic Vehicle Registrar David Dimech.

Patrons: Peter Brock, Ryan Walkinshaw; Foundation Life Members: Warren Jenkins (Pres.), Jeff Kelly (VP), Brian Cassell (Sec.), Mark Hitchinson (Treas.), Tricia Campbell (Social Sec.), Les McClelland (Member); Life Members: Gary Benson, Robert Heard, Brett Gilles, Brian Crawford, Barry Wright, Mike Chapman, Joe Garzaniti; Honorary Members: Ian Luff, Warren Luff.

2012 Club Magazines: