The Club’s “Competition Skills” Driver Training course held in August was the last ever HSV Club organised event to be held at Oran Park Raceway, which closed it gates on 25th January 2010.

Joe Garzaniti was elected Club President for 2009 and when new Secretary Tony Botic submitted the new committee updates to the Dept of Fair Trading it was discovered that the club had not submitted its annual financial statements since 1999 and was on the brink of de-registration. The constitution that had been revised hadn’t been registered with Fair Trading either, so an updated constitution based on Fair Trading’s “Model Rules” was presented to a Special General Meeting on June 10th 2009 and passed by the membership. Tony then went back into history and with the help of Treasurer Rob Losurdo submitted the required annual financial statements, and after paying a nominal fine the Club was back operating legally.

Past President Mike Chapman was granted Life Membership by the Committee for services to the Club including 3 terms as President.

At the Autotech Engineering HSVOC Dyno Day, Ian Williams’ VE ClubSport produced a Club Record 545.7 kW at the rear wheels. That’s 731.8 horsepower from an LS3 fitted with twin APS turbo’s and a GM Performance LQ9 6.7 litre iron block running at 15 psi in 5th gear (no traction in 4th!). This is equivalent to 698 kW or 936 horsepower at the motor. At the time it was the most powerful turbocharged street Commodore in Australia according to Street Commodores Magazine “Dyno Club”.

Social Events: Runs to Mount Panorama Bathurst for Brock’s Birthday starting with breakfast at the Chifley Hotel Eastern Creek, Christmas in July at Gabby’s Restaurant Berry followed by a visit to the Chocolate Factory, Maitland Gaol, Illawarra Tree Top Fly Walk, Hunter Valley via Putty Rd to Wineries at Pokolbin; Coffs Harbour Weekend Away; Shannon Wheels Display on the lawns of Old Parliament House and Bradman Museum at Bowral both organised by Canberra Region.

Special Events: Dyno Day at BTA Motorsports Campsie; Drag Day and BBQ sponsored by Autotech Engineering; October Club Meeting at Hunter Holden Ryde for the unveiling of the E Series 2 – Colin Bond Special Guest; Club Display at Telstra 500 V8 Supercars Homebush; Muscle Car Shows at Hunter Holden Ryde, Hawkesbury Valley Holden Windsor and HSV vs FPV Showdown at Penrith Panthers; Harry’s Cafe de Wheels Liverpool; Christmas Party General Meeting; Gala Dinner presentation night at Le Montage Lilyfield.

2009 Club Motorsport Championship winners were: Dave Monaghan (Club Supersprint Champion) followed by Michael Goodear and Mick McMurdo / Rod Wallace (tied), Charly Jobse (Class 1B), Grant Charlwood (Class 4D), Warwick Fuller (Class 4DC), Gary Nelson (Class SVD), Brett Forbes (Non Holden Class).

Motorsport: FPV vs HSV Drag Day at Sydney Dragway (cancelled); Driver Training on SMSP Skid Pan March, May & November and at Wakefield Park July; Competition Skills Driver Training at Wakefield Park August; Interclub Supersprint Series – 7 rounds.

Muscle Car Show Championship 2009
Grand Champions: Dave Monaghan (HSV), James Stewart (HDT). 
Series Champions: 
HDT VC David Wise, HDT VH Les McClelland, HDT VK Joe D’Aquino, HDT VL James Stewart, HSV VL Sue McReynolds, VN Marcus Lindenbaur, VP Shannon Jackson, VR Richard Melgar, VS Dave Monaghan, VT Dan Berry, VX Dave Monaghan, VY Joe Garzaniti, VZ Theo Demopoulos, VE Tony Botic, Grange Ian Maloney.
Motorsport Champion:
 Peter Hennessy

2009 Committee: President Joe Garzaniti, VP Sam Mangiapane, Secretary Tony Botic, Treasurer Rob Losurdo, Public Officer Tony Botic, Membership Secretary Ellen Bayly, Social Secretary Shannon Jackson, Special Events Director David Dimech, Motorsport Director & CAMS Delegate David Monaghan, Driver Training Chief Instructor Craig Hilton, Merchandise Co-ordinator Sue McReynolds, Magazine Editor Karin Ross, Webmaster Rick Karbowiak, ACT Region Co-ordinator Brad Gordon, South Coast Region Co-ordinator Bruce Pattison.

Patrons: Peter Brock, Ryan Walkinshaw; Foundation Life Members: Warren Jenkins (Pres.), Jeff Kelly (VP), Brian Cassell (Sec.), Mark Hitchinson (Treas.), Tricia Campbell (Social Sec.), Les McClelland (Member); Life Members: Gary Benson, Robert Heard, Brett Gilles, Brian Crawford, Barry Wright, Mike Chapman.

2009 Club Magazines:
2009 Club Magazines had the same cover theme: