Peter Brock was tragically killed whilst competing in a Rally in Western Australia on 8th September 2006 and a special Commemorative Club Meeting and dinner was held on 11th October.

The subsequent October / November edition of the Behind the Wheel magazine contained a wealth of tributes.

HSV built its 50,000th vehicle, a VZ ClubSport in July 2006.

HSV secured an order to provide LHD ClubSport (Z series) race cars to the Bahrain International Circuit in the Middle East. To be known as the ClubSport R (for race spec) the plan was also to provide either complete RHD cars or components for domestic sale. Power was from an HSV enhanced LS1 producing 285kW / 510Nm, 6 piston non abs brakes, 6 speed manual transmission, 60L foam filled fuel tank, KAAZ LSD, coil over suspension, roll cage &weight reduced by 170 kgs.

Social Events: Runs to University of Technology Drive Train Laboratory Dyno Tour (February), Hunter Valley Wine & Beer tasting via Old Pacific Highway to Maitland Motel – Bus tour to Potters Brewery for lunch then dinner in Motel restaurant, Mudgee “Wings, Wheels & Wine” Festival with overnight stay (April) and runway sprints, Oberon Dam via Bells Line of Road with the FPV Club (April), Christmas in July in the Grand View Hotel at Wentworth Falls in the Blue Mountains with most staying overnight; Coffs Harbour Weekend Away, Bathurst V8 Supercars Weekend at Mount Panorama Bathurst; Gala Dinner presentation night at Memories Function Centre Bankstown Trotting Club.

Special Events: HSV / AutoTech Engineering Dyno Day “Shoot Out” (May); Drag Day at WSID with Muscle Car Club (July); Bonnets Up Displays at Supercheap Auto and Muscle car Masters Eastern Creek; All Holden Day Clarendon; Muscle Car Show at Paul Wakeling Motor Group Campbelltown (November); Good Guys Show for Charity at Penrith Panthers (May); Meguiars Trade & Technology Day Silverwater; Christmas Picnic at Carters Creek Lane Cove National Park.

2006 Club Motorsport Championship winners were: Sean Robertson (Club Supersprint Champion) followed by John Howell and Karin Ross, Joshua Dowling (Type 1), John Ivanac (Type 2), Sean Robertson (Type 3), Adrian Bates (Type 4 Control Tyres), Chris Fox (Type 4 Open).

Motorsport: Driver Training at Eastern Creek Skid Pan June & September; Competition Skills Driver Training at Oran Park April and September; Interclub Supersprint Series – 8 rounds.

Muscle Car Show Championship 2006
Grand Champions: Joe Garzaniti (HSV). 
Series Champions: HDT VC David Wise, HDT VK Trevor Sapsed, HDT VL Peter Dowrick, HSV VL Andrew Costa, VN John Grima, VP Ellen Bayly, VR George Tzelepis, VS David Monaghan, VT Richard Blackford, VX David Monaghan, VY Joe Garzaniti, VZ Theo Demopoulos, VE Michael Benton, Coupe Theo Demopoulos, Grange Michael Slater.
Best Concourse: Joe Garzaniti, Best Show n Shine: Theo Demopoulos, Best Daily Driven: Richard Blackford,
Best Supersprint: Bob Parkin, Best Race Car: Bruce Pattison, Best Display: Richard Blackford.

2006 Committee: President Andrew Guesdon, VP Maurice Terpenning, Secretary Ross Reynolds, Treasurer Rob Losurdo, Public Officer Ross Reynolds, Membership Secretary Susan Gee, Social Secretary Mike Chapman, Special Events Co-ordinator Vic Tuckwell, Motorsport Director Michael Paterson, CAMS Delegate & Driver Training Co-ordinator Brett Gilles, Driver Training Chief Instructor Craig Hilton, Merchandise Co-ordinator Heinz Reinhardt, Magazine Editor Karin Ross, South Coast Region Co-ordinator Bruce Pattison, Hunter Valley Region Co-ordinator Paul Woodcroft.

Patrons: Peter Brock, Ryan Walkinshaw; Foundation Life Members: Warren Jenkins (Pres.), Jeff Kelly (VP), Brian Cassell (Sec.), Mark Hitchinson (Treas.), Tricia Campbell (Social Sec.), Les McClelland (Member); Life Members: Gary Benson, Robert Heard, Brett Gilles, Brian Crawford, Barry Wright.

2006 Club Magazines:
2006 Club Magazines had the same cover theme: