The NSW Government issued “stay at home” orders to help control the spread of Covid-19, and these lasted for 107 days before this lockdown was eased on October 11th, mostly for the fully (two doses) vaccinated. This was just after NSW had reached 70% of its population having received two doses of the Covid-19 vaccine. Non-essential retailers, hairdressers, and hospitality venues were among those able to re-open to people who could prove their full-vaccinated status; masks were no longer mandatory in the open, though still required indoors in public places and on public transport. Sydney Motorsport Park permitted access only to those who had been double vaccinated, so motorsport and Club meetings were able to resume for those who had been fully vaccinated.

Due to the extended period of time the Club could not hold any events or activities due to this lockdown, the Committee credited all members who were financial at the end of October with an additional 6 months of membership at no extra cost.

Social Events: The Annual Peter Brock Memorial Run to Mount Panorama Bathurst had 160 people and 72 cars attend (February). Cruise to Jamberoo Pub (March), Go Kart Challenge at C1 Speed Indoor Go Karting Centre (April), Run to Sydney Zoo (May), “Grease” movie at the Blacktown Drive In (May). A run to the Wyong Milk Factory Tavern on Sunday 12th December was the first social event we were able to hold since lockdown. The HSV Fest long weekend in Albury Wodonga (June), All Holden Day (August) and the Coffs Harbour Weekend Away (October) were all cancelled due to NSW Government Covid-19 lockdown.

Special Events: A Club Car display was held 28th March to support the Run West starting at Sydney Motorsport Park, proceeding through Sydney Zoo and finishing at West HQ. The Gala Dinner Presentation Night at La Montage function center, Lilyfield had to postponed again to 2022 due to Government Covid-19 restrictions and no Muscle Car Shows were able to be held due to the NSW Govt lockdowns over the period the Car Shows were planned for. Also cancelled was All Holden Day (August) and the Shannons Classic (October).

The Club’s Christmas meeting was again held under Covid-19 Safe conditions with plenty of food, drink and great company that made it a great social night.

2021 Club Motorsport Championship Winners:
Malcolm Michel (pictured above) won the Phillip Walsh Memorial Motorsport Trophy for the second year in a row. Malcolms car is now a full race car and competes in the Sports Sedans category. Jack Hills placed 2nd and Louise Taylor 3rd. Bill Vouden won the Road Holden Class for a second year, followed by Robert Maher and Simon Lehtonen. Malcolm Michel won the Race Holden Class followed by Anthony Petrik and Luke Wall, Jack Hills won the Outlaw Class followed by Louise Taylor and Jackson Wylie.

2021 Motorsport Australia NSW Supersprint Championship Results:
Our Club had 13 active Motorsport Australia registrants for 2021. Jack Hills won Class 3R3 (<4000cc) and placed 3rd in Type 3R (Improved Production), with Louise Taylor in 3rd place in the same Class. Peter Beswick placed 3rd in Class 3R4 (Improved Production >4000cc). Malcolm Michel won both Type 3S (Sports Sedans) and Class 3S4 (>4000cc). Bill Vouden won Class RR4 (Road Registered Cars >4000cc).

Our Club came in third place behind the ARDC and MX-5 Clubs in the Motorsport Australia NSW Supersprint Club Championship. This is the sixth consecutive year that our Club has been on the podium for the State Club Championship. Not bad for a marque car club that is competing with sporting car clubs whose existence is based purely on motorsport competition.

Motorsport: Motorsport NSW Supersprint Championships were reduced from 6 Rounds to 4 due to NSW Govt Lockdown. Round 1 (18 April), Round 2 (16 May), Round 3 (30 May) and Round 6 (28 November). The Australian National Supersprint Championship which was to be run in November at SMSP was postponed again to 2022 due to the V8 Supercars taking over the date that was booked for this in November. The FAHRT team competed in the Winton round of the Budget Endurance Series in March, the NSW 6 Hour regularity at SMSP on Saturday 17th April, was held for the first time in a single day/night format where our Club entered 2 Teams.

Historic Vehicles
Historic and Classic conditional registration with our club is growing as more vehicles became eligible for this scheme becoming 30 years old, with Club registrations now at 23.

Constitution Update: At a Special General Meeting on 6th April, the following updates were approved to be made to the Clubs Constitution:
1. The position of “Historic/Classic Plates Registrar” to be added to the Committee
2. The Historic/Classic Plates Registrar to be permitted access to restricted Membership Records
3. The name “CAMS” to be replaced with “Motorsport Australia”
4. the 5 Committee member quorum to include those present via tele or video conferencing

2021 Committee: President Joe Garzaniti, VP David Sultana, Secretary Karin Ross, Treasurer Carlo Disaro, Public Officer Ian Williams, Membership Secretary Andi Willelson, Social Secretary Louise Davey, Special Events Frank Vivoda, Motorsport Director Paul Van Neijenhoff, Motorsport Australia Delegate Ian Williams, Magazine Editor Karin Ross, Webmaster Ian Williams, Media Director Brett Davey, Historic & Classic Plate Registrar Michael Benton, Merchandise Officers Louise Davey & Andi Willelson.

Patrons: Peter Brock, Ryan Walkinshaw; Foundation Life Members: Warren Jenkins (Pres.), Jeff Kelly (VP), Brian Cassell (Sec.), Mark Hitchinson (Treas.), Tricia Campbell (Social Sec.), Les McClelland (Member); Life Members: Gary Benson, Robert Heard, Brett Gilles, Brian Crawford, Barry Wright, Mike Chapman, Joe Garzaniti, Karin Ross; Honorary Members: Ian Luff, Warren Luff, Betty Klimenko, Petar Sabados.

2021 Club Magazines:

Again, with the significantly reduced number of meetings, activities and events in 2021 the Club magazine was unable to be published every two months. Only 3 editions of the Club Magazine were published in 2021: