On Sunday 9th November Round 2 of our Muscle Car Show Championship was held for the first time at Sydney Motorsport Park, on the Amaroo Circuit paddock. This was the first time that we had to self fund a Muscle Car Show. Dealers, no longer selling HSV’s were no longer interested in sponsoring these events and this self funded model will need to take us into the future. President Joe Garzaniti worked hard to secure major sponsorship: Bob Jane Mt Druitt, Muscle car Stables, Australian Detailing Services and Meguires which resulted in a very successful show.

Our Club Constitution was updated by Special Resolution on 2nd October to (a) extend Temporary Membership to registered event participants; (b) change from hardcopy to online new membership applications; (c) update membership records to include current online system; (d) remove pro-rating of new membership fees & (e) allow for a digitally based voting system for members residing outside of the greater Sydney Metropolitan region.

After local production of Holden’s ceased, HSV moved to a new facility at Clayton Victoria that had been designed to take it into the next chapter of its history with the conversions of the Chevrolet Camaro 2 SS (facility and car pictured above), the Colorado and Silverado. Discussions were held nationally between HSV Owners Clubs and all agreed to include the HSV plated Camaro as an eligible vehicle for club membership. This will be put to members in 2019 together with a revised Club logo.

The RMS announced an extension to the Classic Vehicle Log Book trial until 30th September 2019 for vehicles older than 30 years registered under the Classic Vehicle Scheme.

Social Events: Runs to Joadja Vineyards in the Southern Highlands, Mount Panorama Bathurst, Segway at Mount Penang Gardens, the Bowral Treat Factory, Illawarra Fly Treetop Adventure Park, Hunter Valley Cheese Factory; Weekend Away at Neville Sidings the Japanese Gardens at Cowra; Coffs Harbour Weekend Away.

Special Events: HSV Fest; Detailing Pros Factory Tour; 33rd All Holden Day; Muscle Car Shows at Autobarn Gregory Hills and Sydney Motorsport Park; Camaro 2 SS release at Hunter Holden; Gala Dinner presentation night at Le Montage Lilyfield.

Willem Fercher – Club Motorsport Champion

Club Motorsport Championship: Willem Fercher won the Phillip Walsh Memorial Motorsport Trophy followed by Scott McKune and David Wylie. Tony McDermott won the Road Holden Class, Willem Fercher won the Race Holden Class, David Wylie won the Outlaw Class and Anthony Petrik was Rookie of the Year.

CAMS NSW Supersprint Championship: Our Club had 28 CAMS registrants for 2018. Scott McKune won the 2018 CAMS NSW Type 3 (Improved Production) Championship and Class 3D. Tony McDermott won Class 2D (Modified Road Cars) and Willem Fercher won Class 5B (Sports Sedans). Our Club came in third place in the CAMS NSW Club Supersprint Championship for the fourth consecutive year!

Other Motorsport: Two HSVOC Teams entered in the NSW 6 Hour regularity at SMSP; Dyno Day at Unigroup Engineering Girraween; Track Attack at Luddenham Raceway; Interclub Supersprint Series; “No Speed Limits” Drive Days at MDTC; Private Hire Drag day at Sydney Dragway; Ian Luff Driver Development programs; Roll Racing at Sydney Motorsport Park; Inaugural half mile airport sprints and Hill Climb at Gunnedah; Warren Luff & Scott Pye finished in 2nd place in the Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000; Peter & Belinda Bone competed in the Targa High Country; Luddenham Raceway opened on 1st November.

Muscle Car Show Championship 2018
Grand Champions: Joe Garzaniti (HSV), Brenton Schuback (HDT). 
Series Champions: VH Brenton Schuback, VK HDT Claudio Sasso, VL HSV Martin Miller, VN David Sultana, VR Ben Claughton, VS David Sultana, VT Heinz Reinhardt, VX David Sultana, VY Joe Garzaniti, VZ Steve Palmer, VE1/2 Peter Murphy, VE3 Frank Vivoda, Gen F1 Michael Benton, Gen F2 Troy Carpenter.
Elite Champion: Joe Garzaniti, Show n Shine Champion: Michael Benton, Daily Driver Champion: Peter Bone.
Modified Champion: George Azzopardi, MotorSport Champion: Paul McIntyre.
Model Champions: GTS Troy Carpenter, Senator Robert Agganis, ClubSport Joe Garzaniti, Coupe David Sultana, Grange David Camilleri, Maloo Warren Minns, SV David Sultana.
Rick Wade Encouragement Award: Jesse Haidar.

2018 Muscle Car Show HSV Grand Champion – Joe Garzaniti’s VY ClubSport
2018 Muscle Car Show HDT Grand Champion – Brenton Schuback’s VH HDT Group 3

Membership: As at the November AGM, the Club had 271 members made up of 12 Life Members, 122 Family Members, 108 Full Members, 12 Associate Members, 14 Special Associate Members and 3 Honorary Members. 273 Eligible vehicles were also recorded on the Club’s register.

2018 Committee: President Joe Garzaniti, VP David Sultana, Secretary Karin Ross, Treasurer Carlo Disaro, Public Officer Ian Williams, Membership Secretary Andi Willelson, Social Secretary Louise Davey, Special Events Frank Vivoda, Motorsport Director Brett Gilles, CAMS Delegate & Webmaster Ian Williams, Merchandise Co-ordinator Tamara Ruxton, Magazine Editor Karin Ross, Media Director Brett Davey, Historic Vehicles Registrar Peter Hennessy.

Patrons: Peter Brock, Ryan Walkinshaw; Foundation Life Members: Warren Jenkins (Pres.), Jeff Kelly (VP), Brian Cassell (Sec.), Mark Hitchinson (Treas.), Tricia Campbell (Social Sec.), Les McClelland (Member); Life Members: Gary Benson, Robert Heard, Brett Gilles, Brian Crawford, Barry Wright, Mike Chapman, Joe Garzaniti, Karin Ross; Honorary Members: Ian Luff, Warren Luff.

2018 Club Magazines: