The service providers of our website gave us 4 weeks’ notice that they planned to shut their servers down, and that as our current platform was antique (pictured on the right), it was not able to be migrated to other servers. Brett Davey and Ian Williams worked with new service provider Image Design Marketing to build and commission a new generation website using the WordPress platform and were able to launch it before the old website was terminated. The new website (pictured above) is quite powerful and has features to benefit members such as a full e-commerce shopping and payments system, full calendaring capabilities that can be synched to other devices and a membership management system which will enable us to transition from the Excel spreadsheet we have been using and become more interactive with members. The domain was retained and another website built to manage HSVFest next year,

The scoring system for the 2017 Nulon Nationals was finally revised to make it fairer for all 14 clubs involved. This year we came in 2nd place, just behind the BMW drivers club who brought some heavy weaponry to the competition. Unfortunately, this looks to be the last year of this initiative by Nulon as they plan to take a different direction.

The proposed race track in the Nowra RAAF airport precinct was abandoned after a vast effort to get it approved. It came down to 100 “vulnerable” orchids which ran through the middle of the property that were protected by both State and Federal law.

Member Rick Wade passed away on 13th July 2017, not long after receiving the news that his car, under the care of his sons, had won Best HSV VE2 and Best Maloo trophies at the Autobarn Muscle Car Show just 4 days earlier. His wife Kris and son Rhys has continued Rick’s legacy with the club. The Club has now named the Muscle Car Show Championship Encouragement Award after Rick.

HSV Fest was the biggest ever with 205 entrants and 97 cars, 32 of these from NSW.

Social Events: Runs to Southern Highlands Wineries, Mayfield Gardens at Oberon, Mount Panorama Bathurst, Illawarra & the Nan Tien Temple, Caves Beach Hotel, Gosford Classic Car Museum, Jenolan Caves; HSV Fest long weekend in Albury Wodonga; Hunter Valley Gardens Lights Spectacular; Coffs Harbour Weekend Away and the MODE Dawn Cruise to Bald Hill Lookout at Stanwell Tops.

Special Events: 2017 Muscle Car Masters Club Display SMSP; 32nd All Holden Day; Muscle Car Shows at Autobarn Gregory Hills and Paul Wakeling Campbelltown; Mequires Motorex at Sydney Olympic Park; Sydney Supersprint Supercars SMSP Club Display; Christmas Party General Meeting; Gala Dinner presentation night at Le Montage Lilyfield.

Club Motorsport Championship: Scott McKune won the Phillip Walsh Memorial Motorsport Trophy followed by Arthur Tsovolos and David Wylie. Robert Apsey won the Road Holden Class, Scott McKune won the Race Holden Class and David Wylie won the Outlaw Class.

Scott McKune – Type 3 and Class 3D CAMS NSW Supersprint Champion

CAMS NSW Supersprint Championship: Our Club had 26 CAMS registrants for 2017. Scott McKune won the 2017 CAMS NSW Type 3 (Improved Production) Championship and Class 3D with Arthur Tsovolos 2nd in 3D. Also 2nd in Class were Robert Apsey 2D (Road Cars) and Paul McIntyre 5B (Sports Sedans). Our Club came in third place in the CAMS NSW Club Supersprint Championship for the third time in a row!

Other Motorsport: HSVOC Team entered in the NSW 6 Hour regularity at SMSP; Dyno Day at Unigroup Engineering Girraween; Nulon Nationals 4 round competition; Interclub Supersprint Series; “No Speed Limits” Drive Days at MDTC; Ian Luff Driver Development programs; Roll Racing at Sydney Motorsport Park.

Muscle Car Show Championship 2017
Grand Champions: Joe Garzaniti (HSV), Steve Mortakis (HDT).
Series Champions: VH Brenton Schuback, VL HDT Steve Mortakis, VL HSV Steve Ball, VN Craig Czintos, VP Mark Van Aalderen, VR George Tzelepis, VS David Sultana, VT Richard Blackford, VX Vic Tuckwell, VY Joe Garzaniti, VZ Fabian Fabietti, VE1 John Garrett, VE2 Rhys Wade, VE3 Frank Vivoda, Gen F1 Stuart Taylor, Gen F2 Kristy Prestidge.
Elite Champion: Joe Garzaniti, Show n Shine Champion: Michael Benton, Daily Driver Champion: Brett Davey.
Modified Champion: Alex Martin, MotorSport Champion: Ian Williams.
Model Champions: GTS Frank Vivoda, Senator Kristie Prestidge , ClubSport Joe Garzaniti, Coupe David Sultana, Grange David Camilleri, Maloo Rhys Wade, SV Steve Ball.
Rick Wade Encouragement Award: Steve Palmer

2017 Muscle Car Show HSV Grand Champion – Joe Garzaniti’s VY ClubSport
2017 Muscle Car Show HDT Grand Champion – Steve Mortakis’ HDT VL Group A SS

2017 Committee: President Joe Garzaniti, VP David Sultana, Secretary Karin Ross, Treasurer Carlo Disaro, Public Officer Ian Williams, Membership Secretary Andi Willelson, Social Secretary Louise Davey, Special Events Director Joe Garzaniti, Motorsport Director & CAMS Delegate Ian Williams, Merchandise Co-ordinator Tamara Ruxton, Magazine Editor Karin Ross, Media Director Brett Davey, Webmaster Greg Sutton, Historic Vehicles Registrar Peter Hennessy.

Patrons: Peter Brock, Ryan Walkinshaw; Foundation Life Members: Warren Jenkins (Pres.), Jeff Kelly (VP), Brian Cassell (Sec.), Mark Hitchinson (Treas.), Tricia Campbell (Social Sec.), Les McClelland (Member); Life Members: Gary Benson, Robert Heard, Brett Gilles, Brian Crawford, Barry Wright, Mike Chapman, Joe Garzaniti, Karin Ross; Honorary Members: Ian Luff, Warren Luff.

2017 Club Magazines: