The annual Peter Brock Bathurst run to Mount Panorama (pictured below) was joined by members of the HSVOC (ACT) and Monaro Owners clubs to remember the Champion 10 years on. It was the largest pilgrimage to date with 230 people and 110 cars.

Brett Gilles stood down as President and Joe Garzaniti took up that responsibility again.

After 7 years, our last “No Speed Limits” Drive Day was held at Wakefield Park on 13th November with the Corvette Club’s helping with numbers by running their “Leadfoot Trophy” in conjunction with it. We had only 12 HSVOC entries out of the 67 required to break even, and with the increased cost of track hire this event has become no longer viable.

Our Club became a Foundation Member of the NSW Southern Motoring Association which is affiliated with the Australian Confederation of Motor Clubs and is the peak club body working with the RMS to introduce the new Conditional Registration Scheme for historic vehicles starting 19th December 2016. Club members with vehicles over 30 years old will be able to participate in this scheme.

Betty Klimenko with David Sultana (L) & Joe Garzaniti (R)

Erebus Motorsport Team owner Betty Klimenko (pictured right) joined our Club with her Gen F GTS and the Committee agreed to upgrade her membership level to “Honorary”. Ian and Warren Luff are the only other Honorary members of our Club.

The Club also purchased a new Club Trailer (pictured on the right) and barbeque, and had 259 active members at the end of 2016.

Social Events: Runs to Norah Head Lighthouse, Wisemans Ferry Bowling Club, Royal National Park to the Australian Motorlife Museum, Southern Highlands Wineries, Mount Panorama Bathurst, Wollombi Pub, Go Kart competition at Luddenham Raceway, Poker Run to Australiana Pioneer Village Wilberforce, Weekend Away to Bobs Shed Quirindi, Hunter Valley Cheese Factory; HSV Fest long weekend in Albury Wodonga where our Club won “Best Club in Show”; Australian Reptile Park; Coffs Harbour Weekend Away and the MODE Dawn Cruise to Bald Hill Lookout at Stanwell Tops.

Special Events: Nulon Factory Tour; Muscle Car Shows at Castle Hill Holden and Heartland Holden Penrith; Nulon Nationals Round 1 Club Display at SMSP where our Club won the “Best Club Display” trophy; 31st All Holden Day where our Club won “Best Club Display”; V8 Supercars Club Display at SMSP; Muscle Car Masters Club Display at SMSP; V8 Supercars Homebush Club Display; Christmas Party General Meeting; Gala Dinner presentation night at Le Montage Lilyfield.

Phil Ryan’s LS Powered 280ZX – 2016 Club Motorsport Champion

Club Motorsport Championship: Phillip Ryan won the Phillip Walsh Memorial Motorsport Trophy followed by Willem Fercher and Scott McKune. Paul McIntyre won the Road Holden Class, Willem Fercher won the Race Holden Class, Phillip Ryan won the Outlaw Class.

CAMS NSW Supersprint Championship: Our Club had 24 CAMS registrants in 2016. Scott McKune won the 2016 CAMS NSW Type 1 (Std Road Car) Championship and Class 1D. Willem Fercher won the 2016 CAMS NSW Type 3 (Improved Production) Championship and Class 3D. Phillip Ryan won the 2016 CAMS NSW Type 4 (Sports Sedans) Championship and Class 4D. Our Club came in third place in the CAMS NSW Club Supersprint Championship for the second time in a row!

Other Motorsport: Nulon Nationals 4 round competition; Interclub Supersprint Series; “No Speed Limits” Drive Day at Wakefield Park and the MDTC; the Australian National Supersprint Championships at Winton Victoria.

Muscle Car Show Championship 2016
Grand Champions: Joe Garzaniti (HSV), Brenton Schuback (HDT).
Series Champions: VH Brenton Schuback, VL Brett Gilles, VN Craig Czintos, VP Mark Van Aalderen, VR George Tzelepis, VS Peter Hennessy, VT Richard Blackford, VX David Sultana, VY Joe Garzaniti, VZ Phil Watters, VE1 John Garrett, VE2 Peter Murphy, VE3 Frank Vivoda, Gen F1 Peter Dowrick, Gen F2 Rodney Paine.
Modified Champion: Craig Czintos, MotorSport Champion: Ian Williams.
Model Champions: GTS Frank Vivoda, Senator Andy Felvus , ClubSport Joe Garzaniti, Coupe Andi Willieson, Grange Graeme Murphy, Maloo Steve Palmer, SV Craig Czintos.
Encouragement Award: Ray Scaria

2016 Muscle Car Show HSV Grand Champion – Joe Garzaniti’s VY ClubSport
2016 Muscle Car Show HDT Grand Champion – Brenton Schuback’s VH HDT Group 3

2016 Committee: President Joe Garzaniti, VP David Sultana, Secretary Karin Ross, Treasurer Carlo Disaro, Public Officer Ian Williams, Membership Secretary Andi Willelson, Social Secretary Sharon Warwick, Special Events Director Frank Vivoda, Motorsport Director & CAMS Delegate Ian Williams, Merchandise Co-ordinator David Sultana, Magazine Editor Karin Ross, Media Director Brett Davey, Webmaster Greg Sutton, Historic Vehicles Registrar Peter Hennessy.

Patrons: Peter Brock, Ryan Walkinshaw; Foundation Life Members: Warren Jenkins (Pres.), Jeff Kelly (VP), Brian Cassell (Sec.), Mark Hitchinson (Treas.), Tricia Campbell (Social Sec.), Les McClelland (Member); Life Members: Gary Benson, Robert Heard, Brett Gilles, Brian Crawford, Barry Wright, Mike Chapman, Joe Garzaniti, Karin Ross; Honorary Members: Ian Luff, Warren Luff.

2016 Club Magazines: