The Club’s ACT based members had asked if they could form an independent association but this decision was not the NSW Club’s, but HSV’s. In August 2011 the results of a survey of our Canberra based members was forwarded to HSV with a recommendation to allow the ACT members to form their own association incorporated under ACT law. HSV subsequently gave their approval and the HSV Owners Club of ACT (Incorporating HDT) Inc. was formed in January 2012, reminiscent of the origins of the NSW Club 27 years earlier.

Our first club Drive Day was held on Sunday 13th March at Wakefield Park Raceway in conjunction with the Southern Sporting Car Club. This new format was an initiative of Brett Gilles and encouraged people to experience track driving who may have not done it before. Drivers were divided into groups based on experience and passenger sessions which weren’t available in other club or multi-club events proved these Drive Days popular.

David Squire passed away on 5th October. David owned a yellow Coupe and was a Committee Member of our club before moving to Qld in 2006 and joining the Qld HSVOC, taking up the position of Membership Secretary until his untimely death.

Social Events: Runs to Mount Panorama Bathurst for Brock’s Birthday starting with breakfast at the Chifley Hotel Eastern Creek, Mount Sugarloaf drive to Kelly Holden Cardiff including a BBQ and Bonnets Up Display organised by the Newcastle branch, Scenic World Katoomba via Hawkesbury Lookout, Gateway Holden Wollongong via the National Park, Skillion Headland & Lookout at Terrigal with fish & chips lunch, Christmas in July at Gabby’s Restaurant Berry followed by a visit to the Chocolate Factory, Hunter Valley run via Putty Rd to Wineries at Pokolbin, Coffs Harbour Weekend Away.

Special Events: Oakville Volunteer Fire Brigade’s Car Show & Fun Day at Pitt Town Sports Club; HDT Factory Meeting at Smeaton Grange; Club Meeting at Hunter Holden Ryde for new showroom launch; Club Display at Motorex Homebush; Club Meeting at Nulon Factory, Moorebank; HSV vs Corvette Go Kart Challenge at Picton;: Muscle Car Run to Mount Panorama Bathurst with the Falcon GT Club; Club Meeting at Hunter Holden Ryde for new HSV range unveiling; Canberra Shannons Wheels Car Show on the lawns of Old Parliament House organised by the ACT branch; Kids Christmas Party at Jamberoo; Club Display at Telstra 500 V8 Supercars Homebush; Muscle Car Shows at Hunter Holden Ryde & Paul Wakeling Holden Campbelltown; Harry’s Cafe de Wheels Liverpool; Christmas Party General Meeting; Gala Dinner presentation night at Le Montage Lilyfield.

2011 Motorsport Most Improved and Class SVD Winner – Ian Williams’ 427 ClubSport

2011 Club Motorsport Championship winners were: Warwick Fuller (Phillip Walsh Memorial Motorsport Trophy), Peter Gillespie (Most Consistent Holden), Adam Tipping (Most Consistent Non Holden), Howard Peterson (Class 3D), Grant Charlwood (Class 4D), Warwick Fuller (Class 4DC), Ian Williams (Class SVD), Adam Tipping (Non Holden Class) & Ian Williams (Most Improved).

Motorsport: Dyno Day at Autotech Engineering, Granville; Driver Training on SMSP Skid Pan May & October; Huntley Hill Climbs June & November; Interclub Supersprint Series – 6 rounds; “No Speed Limits” Drive Days at Wakefield Park March, July & November; the first annual Temora 1000 Airport Sprint.

Muscle Car Show Championship 2011
Grand Champions: Joe Garzaniti (HSV), Les McClelland (HDT). 
Series Champions: VH Les McClelland, HDT VK Brendan Holt, HDT VL James Stewart, HSV VL Sue McReynolds, VN Helen Grima, VP Roger Whalebone, VR Carlo Disaro, VS Andy Felvus, VT Simon Vella, VX Vic Tuckwell, VY Joe Garzaniti, VZ Bob Bartle, VE1 Tony Botic, VE2/3 Cy Cripps.
Modified Champion: Wayne Trimby, MotorSport Champion: Ian Williams.
Model Champions:  Grange Steve Mortakis, Maloo Eddie Jones, VXR Louie Alfonsi.

2011 Muscle Car Show HSV Grand Champion: Joe Garzaniti’s VY ClubSport
2011 Muscle Car Show HDT Grand Champion: Les MCClelland’s VH Group 3 SS

2011 Committee: President Joe Garzaniti, VP Sam Mangiapane, Secretary Tony Botic, Treasurer Carlo Disaro, Public Officer Tony Botic, Membership Secretary James Stewart, Social Secretary Shannon Jackson, Special Events Director David Dimech, Motorsport Director & CAMS Delegate David Monaghan, Driver Training Craig Hilton, Merchandise Co-ordinator Sue McReynolds, Magazine Editor Karin Ross, Webmaster Ian Williams, ACT Region Co-ordinator James Webber, Newcastle Region Co-ordinator Dmitry Dorofeev.

Patrons: Peter Brock, Ryan Walkinshaw; Foundation Life Members: Warren Jenkins (Pres.), Jeff Kelly (VP), Brian Cassell (Sec.), Mark Hitchinson (Treas.), Tricia Campbell (Social Sec.), Les McClelland (Member); Life Members: Gary Benson, Robert Heard, Brett Gilles, Brian Crawford, Barry Wright, Mike Chapman.

2011 Club Magazines: